Treating complicated cases 💪🏼

Correcting crowding of teeth

We tell you which treatments can help correct crowded teeth
We use the most effective devices and advanced bite correction techniques
Treatment time — from 8 months

Teeth crowding in orthodontic practice is very common – most patients come to the orthodontist with this very problem.

crowding is a lack of space in the tooth row. The more space is lacking, the more crowding can occur (teeth tilt and turn to take up less space).

Not only does crowding disrupt the aesthetics of the smile, but it also leads to the formation of malocclusion and other dental problems.

Causes of crowding

  • Small jaw size (micrognathia)
    If the upper or lower jaw does not grow large enough during a child's development, the permanent teeth (which are much larger than the baby teeth) do not have enough room to erupt properly. Micrognathia can be genetically determined, or it can form as a result of bad habits during the period of active growth. Mouth breathing, finger sucking, and improper tongue function can cause delayed jaw growth and the formation of an improper bite and crowding.

  • Large Teeth (Macrodentia)
    Space deficiency can also occur in properly formed jaws when teeth are significantly larger than normal in size.

  • Early Removal of Baby Teeth
    Baby teeth hold space for permanent teeth. If a baby tooth is extracted earlier than six months before it is due to change, the space for the permanent tooth to erupt may be lost. Neighboring teeth will move into the area of the missing tooth and «take» the wrong place.
    If it is necessary to extract baby teeth as a result of decay and its complications, a consultation with an orthodontist is necessary. If it is necessary to hold the space after extraction, the doctor will make removable plates or special appliances to prevent crowding.

  • Wisdom teeth eruption

    Lower jaw incisor crowding can occur in adulthood. Most patients and doctors associate the appearance of crowding on the lower jaw with the eruption of third molars – wisdom teeth.

In reality, this is not such a clear-cut fact – most current research does not prove, or even disprove, the relationship between erupting third molars and crowding.

Sources:
Presence and Maturation Dynamics of Mandibular Third Molars and Their Influence on Late Mandibular Incisor Crowding: A Longitudinal Study. Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2021 Sep 25;18(19):10070. doi: 10.3390/ijerph181910070. PMID: 34639372; PMCID: PMC8508372.
Does mandibular third molar have an impact on dental mandibular anterior crowding? A literature review. J Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg. 2018 Jun;119(3):204-207. doi: 10.1016/j.jormas.2018.03.005. Epub 2018 Mar 21. PMID: 29571816.

Consequences of overcrowding

  • Bite abnormalities
    In many clinical cases, crowding hides a more serious orthodontic problem – underdevelopment and narrowing of the jaw, distal or other types of bite. In this case, the orthodontist has a more important mission – to correct the bite, and the correction of crowding becomes the default «default» task, because without straight teeth, it is impossible to achieve proper alignment of the teeth.

  • Deterioration of oral hygiene and higher risk of dental caries
    With severe crowding, proper oral hygiene becomes impossible. The constant presence of soft and hard plaque leads to the development of caries and inflammatory periodontal diseases (gingivitis and periodontitis).

  • Periodontal disease and recession formation
    Irregular positioning of the teeth leads to an impaired redistribution of the chewing load on the teeth. In this case, the tooth retention apparatus – periodontium will suffer. Bone loss, recession and increased tooth mobility will occur.

  • Pathological abrasion, chipping and cracking of enamel.
    The increased load on the teeth leads to a violation of the integrity of its hard tissues – the enamel is destroyed, eroded and chipped. There is increased abrasion not only of crowded teeth, but also those with which they are interlocked. Stable restoration of such teeth is not possible, as the dental restorations will chip and lead to even more tooth destruction as a result of misalignment and hypercontacts.

Treatment of crowding

Orthodontic treatment tactics will depend on the degree of space deficiency, dental health, bite, and bone volume. To create a customized treatment plan, the orthodontist will perform a diagnostic – analyzing photographs, skull CT scans, tooth tilts, and more.

The main task to solve crowding – is to create space in the tooth row. How does an orthodontist create space?

  • Increases the inclination of the teeth
    As the inclination is increased, the length of the tooth row is increased. This method has great limitations: bone volume, initial inclination of the teeth.

  • Widens the teeth
    The largest expansion to create space can be performed by an orthodontist in childhood during the period of active bone growth (6-8 years of age) using special expansion appliances. In adolescence and adulthood, expansion can occur with the help of braces or eliners, but already in a much smaller volume. In a permanent bite with pronounced crowding, expansion can be achieved with special devices with miniscrews or surgically. This method is optimal when, in addition to crowding, there is a skeletally pronounced narrowing of the jaw.

    • Distalizes (moves teeth backward)
      Moving the side teeth backward causes the tooth row to lengthen and create space in the tooth row. The distalization treatment option may be considered if it will not only solve the crowding issue, but also improve the bite.

  • Grinds teeth
    Separation – is the grinding of the lateral surfaces of the tooth to correct their shape and create space. The grinding is done during orthodontic treatment in a volume that is harmless to the enamel (0.1-0.2 mm per surface), but allows for the creation of precious space to correct crowding.

Studies show that tooth grinding is harmless to enamel and does not increase the risk of tooth decay, even many years after separation.

Sources:
Dental health assessed more than 10 years after interproximal enamel reduction of mandibular anterior teeth. Am J Orthod Dentofacial Orthop. 2007 Feb;131(2):162-9. doi: 10.1016/j.ajodo.2006.10.001. PMID: 17276856.
Dental health assessed after interproximal enamel reduction: caries risk in posterior teeth. Am J Orthod Dentofacial Orthop. 2011 Jan;139(1):90-8. doi: 10.1016/j.ajodo.2010.09.002. PMID: 21195282.
  • Removing teeth
    In cases of severe crowding, sometimes the decision may be made to remove a tooth. This decision is made when other options for creating space are impossible or insufficient, and tooth extraction will also lead to a correction of the bite.

Teeth crowding — one of the most common reasons to visit an orthodontist. For some patients, the goal of treatment is aesthetics – straight teeth and a beautiful smile, and for others, preserving the future health of the teeth comes first. The orthodontist's arsenal of treatment options for crowding can be combined and combined to create an effective and predictable treatment plan.

Regardless of the patient's initial treatment request, it is always rewarding to see how their smile – becomes wider and more confident as their teeth align, which can be visually appreciated by the patient themselves.

Diagnostic consultation with a leading orthodontist
  • A detailed treatment plan in 1.5 hours
  • Planning according to the concept of accelerated treatment
  • Personal curator's help
4 900 rub
10 000 rub

Cost of orthodontic treatment

The best specialists to treat you

5/5
08.10.2022
Updated 31.12.2023

Логотип клиники Конфиденция Логотип клиники Конфиденция Логотип клиники Конфиденция
Лечим сложные случаи 💪🏼

Исправление скученности зубов

Рассказываем, какие методы лечения помогают исправить скученность зубов
Используем самые эффективные аппараты и подвинутые методики исправления прикуса
Сроки лечения — от 8 месяцев

Скученность зубов в ортодонтической практике встречается очень часто – большинство пациентов обращаются к ортодонту именно с этой проблемой.

Скученность представляет собой недостаток места в зубном ряду. Чем больше места не хватает, тем сильнее может быть скученность (зубы наклоняются и поворачиваются, чтобы занять меньше места).

Скученность не только нарушает эстетику улыбки, но и приводит к формированию неправильного прикуса и другим стоматологическим проблемам.

Причины скученности

  • Маленький размер челюсти (микрогнатия)
    При недостаточном росте верхней или нижней челюсти в период развития ребенка постоянным зубам (которые значительно больше молочных) недостаточно места для правильного прорезывания. Микрогнатия может быть генетически обусловлена, а может формироваться в результате вредных привычек в период активного роста. Ротовое дыхание, сосание пальца, неправильная функция языка могут стать причиной задержки роста челюсти и формированию неправильного прикуса и скученности.

  • Большие зубы (макродентия)
    Дефицит места может наблюдаться и при правильно сформированных челюстях, когда зубы по размеру значительно больше нормы.

  • Раннее удаление молочных зубов
    Молочные зубы удерживают место для постоянных. При удалении молочного зуба ранее, чем за полгода до его смены, может потеряться место для прорезывания постоянного. Соседние зубы сместятся в область отсутствующего и «займут» не свое место.
    При необходимости удаления молочных зубов в результате кариеса и его осложнений необходима консультация врача-ортодонта. Если нужно удерживать место после удаления, врач изготовить съемные пластинки или специальные аппараты для профилактики скученности.

  • Прорезывание зубов мудрости
    Скученность резцов нижней челюсти может появиться и во взрослом возрасте. Большинство пациентов и докторов появление скученности на нижней челюсти связывают с прорезыванием третьих моляров – зубов мудрости.

В реальности это не настолько однозначный факт – большинство современных исследований не доказывают, или даже опровергают, взаимосвязь между прорезыванием третьих моляров и скученностью.

Источники:
Presence and Maturation Dynamics of Mandibular Third Molars and Their Influence on Late Mandibular Incisor Crowding: A Longitudinal Study. Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2021 Sep 25;18(19):10070. doi: 10.3390/ijerph181910070. PMID: 34639372; PMCID: PMC8508372.
Does mandibular third molar have an impact on dental mandibular anterior crowding? A literature review. J Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg. 2018 Jun;119(3):204-207. doi: 10.1016/j.jormas.2018.03.005. Epub 2018 Mar 21. PMID: 29571816.

Последствия скученности

  • Патологии прикуса
    Во многих клинических случаях за скученностью скрывается более серьезная ортодонтическая проблема – недоразвитие и сужение челюсти, дистальный или другие виды прикуса. В таком случае перед ортодонтом стоит более важная миссия – коррекция прикуса, а исправление скученности становится задачей «по умолчанию», так как без ровных зубов достичь правильного смыкания зубов невозможно.

  • Ухудшение гигиены полости рта и более высокий риск кариеса
    При выраженной скученности правильная гигиена полости рта становится невозможной. Постоянное наличие мягкого и твердого зубного налета приводят к развитию кариеса и воспалительных заболеваний пародонта (гингивит и пародонтит).

  • Заболевания пародонта и образование рецессий
    Неправильное положение зубов приводит к нарушению перераспределения жевательной нагрузки на зубы. В таком случае пострадает удерживающий аппарат зуба – пародонт. Произойдет убыль костной ткани, рецессии и увеличение подвижности зубов.

  • Патологическая стираемость, сколы и трещины эмали.
    Повышенная нагрузка на зубы приводит к нарушению целостности его твердых тканей – эмаль разрушается, стирается и скалывается. Происходит повышенное стирание не только скученных зубов, но и тех, с которыми они смыкаются. Стабильное восстановление таких зубов невозможно, так как в результате неправильного смыкания и наличия гиперконтактов стоматологические реставрации будут скалываться и приводить к еще большему разрушению зуба.

Лечение скученности

Тактика ортодонтического лечения будет зависеть от степени дефицита места, здоровья зубов, прикуса и объема костной ткани. Для создания индивидуального плана лечения врач-ортодонт проводит диагностику – анализирует фотографии, компьютерную томограмму черепа, наклоны зубов и многое другое.

Главная задача для решения скученности – это создание места в зубном ряду. Как врач-ортодонт создает место?

  • Увеличивает наклоны зубов
    При увеличении наклонов увеличивается длина зубного ряда. Этот способ имеет большие ограничения: объем костной ткани, изначальные наклоны зубов.

  • Расширяет зубные ряды
    Наибольшее расширение для создания места врач-ортодонт может провести в детском возрасте в период активного роста костей (6-8 лет) с помощью специальных расширяющих аппаратов. В подростковом и взрослом возрасте расширение может происходить с помощью брекетов или элайнеров, но уже в гораздо меньшем объеме. В постоянном прикусе при выраженной скученности расширение может достигаться с помощью специальных аппаратов с минивинтами или хирургически. Такой способ оптимален, когда кроме скученности наблюдается скелетное выраженное сужение челюсти.

    • Дистализирует (перемещает зубы назад)
      Движение боковых зубов назад приводит к удлинению зубного ряда и созданию места в зубном ряду. Вариант лечения с дистализацией может рассматриваться в том случае, если это приведется не только к решению вопроса скученности, но и улучшению прикуса.

  • Пришлифовывает зубы
    Сепарация – это пришлифовывание боковых поверхностей зуба с целью коррекции их формы и создания места. Пришлифовывание проводится в процессе ортодонтического лечения в безвредном для эмали объеме (0.1-0.2 мм на поверхность), но позволяет создавать драгоценное место для коррекции скученности.

Исследования показывают, что пришлифовывание зубов безвредно для эмали и не увеличивает риск развития кариеса даже через многие годы после сепарации.

Источники:
Dental health assessed more than 10 years after interproximal enamel reduction of mandibular anterior teeth. Am J Orthod Dentofacial Orthop. 2007 Feb;131(2):162-9. doi: 10.1016/j.ajodo.2006.10.001. PMID: 17276856.
Dental health assessed after interproximal enamel reduction: caries risk in posterior teeth. Am J Orthod Dentofacial Orthop. 2011 Jan;139(1):90-8. doi: 10.1016/j.ajodo.2010.09.002. PMID: 21195282.
  • Удаляет зубы
    В случаях выраженной скученности иногда может быть принято решение об удалении какого-либо зуба. Такое решение принимается в случае, если другие варианты создания места невозможны или недостаточны, а удаление зуба так же приведется к коррекции прикуса.

Скученность зубов — одна из самых распространенных причин обращения к ортодонту. Для кого-то из пациентов задачей лечения является эстетика – ровные зубы и красивая улыбка, а для кого-то на первом месте сохранение дальнейшего здоровья зубов. В арсенале врача-ортодонта есть множество способов для коррекции скученности, которые можно комбинировать и объединять, создавая эффективный и предсказуемый план лечения.

Независимо от того, с каким запросом пациент начал лечение, всегда приятно наблюдать, как по мере выравнивания зубов, которое визуально может оценить сам пациент, меняется и его улыбка – становится шире и увереннее.

Диагностическая консультация ортодонта
  • Подробный план лечения за 1,5 часа
  • Комплексный анализ
  • Помощь личного куратора
4 900 р.
10 000 р.

Стоимость ортодонтического лечения

61 000 р.
71 000 р.
66 000 р.
?
Ортодонтическое лечение Light

Не включает брекет-систему и фиксацию

118 000 р.
?
Ортодонтическое лечение Standart

Не включает брекет-систему и фиксацию.

168 000 р.
?
Ортодонтическое лечение Plus

Не включает брекет-систему и фиксацию

218 000 р.
?
Ортодонтическое лечение TOP (у ведущего врача)

Не включает брекет-систему и фиксацию.

268 000 р.

Лучшие специалисты, которые будут вас лечить

5/5
08.10.2022
Обновлено 01.03.2024